Nashunbatu
In Other Places: The Painting Practice of Nashunbatu
2023.09.23 - 11.12
TRIUMPH GALLERY is pleased to announce In Other Places: The Painting Practice of Nashunbatu, the artist’s first solo exhibition with the gallery, from September 23rd to November 12th, 2023. The exhibition, curated by Su Wei, showcases a chapter of Nashunbatu’s painting practice since his relocation to Germany in 2000, with more than 20 paintings on view. 

The paintings of Nashunbatu demonstrate a peculiar synthesis: he has simultaneously applied on a single canvas an array of painterly techniques and modes of expression that he has mastered or continued to explore. It became almost impossible for the audiences to pinpoint the artist’s formal training background and stylistic preference. At the same time, Nashunbatu incorporates a variety of painterly “dialects” into his repertoire, formulating a singular creative practice marked by its incoherence.

Nashunbatu, who has been living in Germany for a while, made no effort to hide his interest in the “middle ground” and “multiculturalism” that transcend the influence of different contexts.The embodiment of such interest manifests in his painting by negating contexts, identities, and any accompanying factors, national or regional. His command over the imaginative space in his compositions comes more from a pursuit of decontextualization and intuition. On the other hand, aesthetic experience under the rendition of Nashunbatu presents itself as multifaceted: the picture and the mental and psychological space it entails are infinitely delayed by the critique and reconstruction of painting conventions he imbues into his compositions, while the introduction and clash of multiple painting “dialects turns” the aesthetic experience here into an eternal act that happens in other places/absent.
Nashunbatu
Nashunbatu was born in 1969 in Ordos, Inner Mongolia, China. He graduated from the Fine Arts Department of Inner Mongolia Normal University in 1989. From 2000 to 2006, he studied at the University of  Fine Arts in Braunschweig, Germany, Where he was awarded the Scholarship of the Foundation for Cultural Heritage of Braunschweig (SBK) in 2006. Currently lives and works in Frankfurt am Main, he mainly works with contemporary oil paintings. 

Formal analytic and thematic consideration of Nashunbatu’s work shows that the works articulate their quality at the two levels that are relevant to the medium of painting. A reflexive approach to the possibilities of painting after the end of painting, and a unique experience associatively legible at the thematic level, which can be read as a critical commentary on the current state of our relation to subject/self and the world, come together. The twin poles of the horizon of meaning in Nashun Nashunbatu’s art illustrates the potential of a contemporary approach to painting that interrelates a wide spectrum of relational fields and gives pictorial expression to virulent experiences of our condition as contemporary individuals.
Learn more >
Curator
Curator
Su Wei
Su Wei (born in Beijing) is an art writer, art historian and curator based in Beijing. Su Wei's work in recent years focuses on re-constructing the narrative—and radical imagination—of contemporary Chinese art history, and explores the roots of the legitimacy and rupture of contemporary Chinese art history in a global context. Pivotal to his work is the attempt to take the “post-1949” as the key in understanding artistic production in a contemporary situation, and in so doing he seeks to re-define the stance and possibilities of art in nowadays China. He thus engages in an anti-establishment critical practice by mapping the limits, contextual clues and unconscious energies of the post-1949 art production, which figures the dual presence of decay and emptiness.

那顺巴图个展
不在此地:那顺巴图的绘画实践
2023.09.23 - 11.12
凯旋画廊荣幸地宣布将于2023年9月23日至11月12日期间,推出艺术家那顺巴图在画廊空间的首次个展「不在此地:那顺巴图的绘画实践」。展览由苏伟担任策展人,节选了那顺巴图2000年迁居德国后的绘画实践片段,共计展出20余件绘画作品。

那顺巴图的绘画实践呈现出一种奇异的综合:将自己所掌握的、以及不断开拓出的各种绘画技巧和表达方式,运用到同一张画布上。观者无法根据画面断定艺术家的训练背景和风格倾向;同时,那顺巴图将多种绘画的「方言」融入到自身的谱系之中,形成一种独特的、以不连续性为特质的创作面貌。

长期生活于德国的那顺巴图,毫不讳言跨越语境的“中间地带”和“多元文化”的兴趣。这种兴趣在他绘画中,首先以搁置语境、身份和其附带的无论是民族性还是地域性的因素的方式体现。他对画面中的想象空间的经营,更多出自于一种去语境的、其所追求的赤裸状态下的直觉。而另一方面,审美体验在那顺巴图这里呈现出复杂的多重面向:图像及其引发的精神和心理空间,被他在画面中所灌注的对于绘画惯例的批判和再构无限延滞;多种绘画方言的引入和冲突,让审美体验在此变成了一个永恒的不在此地的行为。
那顺巴图
那顺巴图,1969年出生于中国内蒙古鄂尔多斯,1989年毕业于内蒙古师范大学美术系,2000-2006年攻读德国布伦瑞克艺术大学(HBK) 研究生及艺术类博士(大师生),2006年荣获布鲁瑞克文化遗产大师生奖(SBK)。现生活工作于德国法兰克福,主要创作当代油画。

通过观察那顺巴图作品的形式分析和内容可以明确,其作品的品质正是表现在这两个与绘画媒介相关的层面上。正如梅哈德所描述的那样,对绘画终结之后的绘画可能性的反思与一个内容层面上的独特的联想性体验结合在一起。此体验可以理解为对我们当前主体与世界关系构成的批判性评论。那顺巴图艺术两极性的意境展示了当代绘画的潜能:它使得多种相关域紧密相连,并将我们作为当代个体处境的强烈体验以绘画的方式形象地表达出来。
了解更多 >
策展人
策展人
苏伟
苏伟是生活在北京的策展人、艺术史研究者。苏伟最近几年的工作聚焦于对中国当代艺术历史的再叙述和想象,探索其全球语境中的合法性和断裂性的根源。这一工作的核心,是重新提取“1949后“当代情境中的艺术生产,描述其衰颓与虚无双重面貌下的限度、情境线索和无意识的能量,从而批判性地展开反制度的实践,重新定义艺术在今天的立场及可能性。